The Right Sequence of Tirumala Yatra

Tirumala yatra

As we all know Tirumala Thirupathi is located in the Chittoor District of Andhra Pradesh. As per ancient scriptures, there is a  right sequence of Tirumala yatra.

Hi All, in this article I am going to explain clearly The Right Sequence of Tirumala Yatra.

  1. Kanipakam Varasidhi Vinayaka Swamy
  2. Tiruchanur Padmavathi
  3. Kapila Theertham
  4. Swami Pushkarini
  5. Sri Bhu Varaha Swamy temple
  6. Lord Venkateswara swamy temple
  7. Srikalahasti


To have a good experience during your Tirumala pilgrimage, follow these seven important steps:

Start by paying your respects to the ancient Kanipakam Varasidhi Vinayaka Swamy. Even Adi Shankaracharya, a revered spiritual leader, begins offering prayers to Ganapati to receive blessings.

Second, we should pray to Padmavathi, who appears as Sarva Swatantra Veera Lakshmi. Our ancient scriptures tell us that we should start by praying to the goddess so that we can receive blessings from the Lord. As we know, Lord Venkateswara carries Lakshmi on His chest.

Thirdly, visit Kapila Theertham. Spiritual bathing, a purificatory ritual in the holy waters of Kapilatheertham, eliminates our sins and entitles us to visit Tirumala

Fourth, when you arrive in Tirumala, get a tonsured head to remove accumulated karma from your hair and bathe in the sacred Swami Pushkarini. This is a crucial step that should not be skipped.”

Praying at Sri Bhu Varaha Swamy temple is the fifth step in a sequence, and it’s essential before moving forward. Long ago, in ancient texts, it was said that Lord Venkateswara was unhappy with people who ignored Adi Varaha Swamy. If you forget to do this, there’s a reminder. As you walk towards Ananda Nilayam, you’ll see a carving of Sri Varaha Swamy on a pillar to your left. It’s there to help you remember.

The sixth stop on your journey is a special one. It’s all about the Lord Venkateswara, who is the main focus.

The seventh and final part of your trip takes you downhill to Srikalahasti. Some people who follow Vaishnavism (a branch of Hinduism) believe that Lord Shiva, who is usually associated with cremation grounds, is not very lucky. So, they prefer to pray to Lord Vishnu first. In a temple, these people pay their respects to Lord Vishnu but often ignore Lord Shiva, even though he is the guardian deity of Vaishnava temples. In a way, Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva are like two sides of the same coin. They are different, but they’re both important in their own way.

Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva are equally important in our beliefs. When it comes to visiting the Srikalahasti temple, the idea of it being the last stop on a pilgrimage is a more recent tradition and not found in our ancient texts. This temple is known for performing rituals related to Rahu and Ketu, which are celestial beings, and also for ceremonies involving serpents. These rituals are done using special prayers to remove any negative effects on people who may have unintentionally harmed a sacred serpent in the past.

In this article, I have given a clear explanation of the sequence of visiting Tirumala and reasons for the Right sequence of Tirumala Yatra.

1 thought on “The Right Sequence of Tirumala Yatra”

Leave a Comment